Archive for the Cy Young Award Category

Shocker: C.C. Wins the Cy Young; Lloyd Carr Done At Michigan; Sup With These Young Boys? Posada Reportedly Signs; Braun, Pedroia Rookies Of the Year

Posted in Blogroll, University of Michigan, Dustin Pedroia, O.J. Mayo, New York Yankees, Jorge Posada, USC, Josh Beckett, C.C. Sabathia, Cy Young Award, Fausto Carmona, Derrick Rose, Michael Beasley, Eric Gordon, Jonny Flynn, Lloyd Carr, Ohio State University, Ryan Braun, Brandon Jennings, Delmon Young, Troy Tulowitzki, Gaylord Perry on November 13, 2007 by mizzo

First off, I have to say Happy Birthday to my lil sis. Thanks for all you’ve done Gina. I love you very much :)

Birthday wishes also go out to Ron Artest. Happy Birthday brotha. Thanks.

Props to Dwil for his SOMM mention in Jemele Hill’s latest.


C.C. Sabathia wins Cy Young Award

Wasn’t a surprise to me brotha

I’m shocked. Beckett second.

Sports writers were swinging on Beckett’s jock the last two months of the season. There is no denying Beckett was a monster during the playoffs. Anyone outside of Cleveland who seriously entertained the notion Sabathia would win this award is a liar. Straight up. If anything, I thought his teammate Fausto Carmona would takes some votes and Beckett would win in a landslide. He’s the first Indians pitcher since Gaylord Focker Perry won the award in ’72. Does it make up for Albert Belle not winning in ’95? Of course not.

C.C. was 19-7 with a 3.21 earned run average. Maybe the reasoning behind Sabathia winning was he pitched 40 more innings than Beckett. Becket was on the dl–most likely to rest the ace–and maybe durability was a question.

Sabathia received 18 of 29 first place votes.


Continue reading

Cleveland Sends Message to Red Sox Nation: Indians 7, Boston 3

Posted in Boston Red Sox, Colorado Rockies, Manny Ramirez, Cleveland Indians, Terry Francona, ALCS, Tim Wakefield, Josh Beckett, C.C. Sabathia, Jhonny Peralta, Casey Blake, Paul Byrd, Kevin Youklis, David Ortiz, Eric Wedge, Jacob Field, World Series, American League Pennant, Rafael Betancourt, Jensen Lewis, Cy Young Award on October 17, 2007 by mizzo

victormartinez.jpg (Photo Credit: AP)

All year long MLB has forced fed the New York Yankees and Boston Red Sox down baseball fan’s collective throats. This practice has masked just how good the rest of the league has become. The Colorado Rockies have won 21 out of 22 games to make their first World Series appearance. The Cleveland Indians, seemingly another team of destiny, have shown the world they are for real and trust that Red Sox nation doesn’t know what hit ’em.

Continue reading


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers