2007… The Best of Times; The Worst of Times!

2007 was quite a year in sports for me. There were several highs and several lows. The highest of highs occurred in Miami and on Miami Beach. The lowest of the lows occurred in Miami and in Buffalo, NY.

I’ll begin with the highs.

ESPN.com

ESPN.com

As a huge University of Miami football fan, I was excited about going to Super Bow XLI in South Florida in february, 2007. Not only would there be Hurricanes in the Super Bowl, there would be Hurricanes around during Super Bowl Week. I met Bennie Blades and some others. Blades was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in the summer of 2007. However, most excitingly for me, I met Michael “The Playmaker” Irvin and watched as it was announced that he had finally been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Of course, the Super Bowl itself had more than just Hurricanes that were important to me. Understand that this Super Bowl guaranteed that not only would the first and second Black head coaches in Super Bowl history would square off, but we would indeed have the first Black winner.

On the eve of the Super Bowl, my buddy J.A. Adande got me into an exclusive private party. After walking the red carpet, I hung with Adande and Michael Smith in the party.

Ultimately, as a longtime Tony Dungy fan, I wanted my Indianapolis Colts to defeat Lovie Smith’s Chicago Bears, but I would have felt like a winner either way.

Once the game began, my excitement grew beyond compare. Former Hurricane and current Pro Bowler Devin Hester returned the opening kickoff for a touchdown to give the Bears a 7-0 lead. Nonetheless, Indianapolis answered with a Peyton Manning strike to former Hurricane and current Pro Bowler Reggie Wayne for a 7-all tie. It was all Colts after that and I got to shake hands with my ‘Canes and current Pro Bowler Bob Sanders and both coaches. What an experience!

Moving along, my Tennessee Lady Vols returned to prominence under the guidance of the great Pat Summit and the production of Candace Parker the Great, Alexis Hornbuckle, Sidney Spencer, Nicky Anosike, and Shannon Bobbit. Parker, Summit, and the Lady Vols are working on a back-to-back right now. Spencer, going into her second season with the Los Angeles Sparks, awaits Parkers decision on whether or not to go pro after this season. The Sparks have the first pick in the draft.

Additionally, my Red Sox won the World Series again. Yep, my Sox are the Team of the Decade Century. What a ride! And I love the fact that Steinbrenner blew the Yankees up. Now Joe Torre’s in my backyard as manager of the Dodgers. The jury’s still out on how I feel about that. I was down with former Red Sox skipper Grady Little.

The Lakers with the hated Kobe Bryant finished 2007 with an 19-11 record, good for fifth best in the West, and only a half-game behind New Orleans and Dallas, both at 20-11 and tied for third.

The Redskins overcame adversity and thumped Dallas to charge into the playoffs on the heels of a 4-game win streak.

Tiger had another stellar year. Venus and Serena each copped another Slam victory. My Bruins made it to another Final Four before losing to Florida in the championship game. C. Vivian Stringer led her embattled Rutgers team to the championship game, wherein they lost to the Lady Vols. Hats off to them.

Now the lows.

On the downside, we saw a former Hurricane, Kevin Everett, temporarily paralyzed making a play for the Bills on Special teams. On a positive note, he is walking now. And we saw another former ‘Cane and current Pro Bowler, Sean Taylor, murdered in his Miami home.

2007… For me, it was the best of times; it was the worst of times. Thanks for following me down memory lane.

5 Responses to “2007… The Best of Times; The Worst of Times!”

  1. thebrotherreport Says:

    Michael Irvin’s induction speech moved me to the point of tears – especially when he was addressing his sons. Every father/husband/son needs to watch that speech if you don’t get something out of that you don’t have a pulse.

  2. anthonycarter Says:

    Agreed!

  3. All I can say is… “Look up, get up, but don’t ever give up.”

  4. Words to live by Brianna. I’ll never forget that speech.

  5. Sounds like you lived out a sports fan’s dream down in Miami rubbing elbows with living legends. See, travel is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

