Archive for April 11, 2007

Interview with ESPN Columnist, Jemele Hill, Part 1

Posted in Blogroll on April 11, 2007 by mizzo

Jemele Hill.Jemele Hill is the only Black female sports columnist currently writing for a major outlet. It’s very important there is a prominent influx of dissenting minority female voices in journalism so fans of sports get more objective coverage of the games they love. Jemele is very talented, knows her stuff and will be the force formidable for years to come. Because Jemele is alone, she carries the burden of cultivating role models in female youth who aspire to do what she does so well. Open your minds people and allow yourself to see things differently. I enjoy interviewing journalists because readers can get a insider view of the voices behind the pen. I hope you enjoy.

MT: Describe your style and your vision of journalism.

JH: Hmm, that’s a pretty good question. I would say that I always have an opinion on things. I think that’s the most important part of being a journalist. I try to be the columnist that has all the pitches. Someone who could throw the fastball, curveball, lil’ slider and maybe give you a knuckleball every now and again. I think that’s important because anytime you are a columnist and you talk to people one certain way, it’s only a matter of time before you are tuned out and no longer taken seriously—particularly if you are a fastball columnist that always is screaming at people, everything is outrageous and everything is the end of the earth. I think you have to choose your pictches carefully and sort of go with what’s warranted for the moment. Sometimes people need to be yelled at and cussed out, but other times they need to be spoon fed and educated. You have to figure out what it is your audience needs at that moment on that particular subject. I’m a relatively young columnist that’s new in the game. I’m still sort of learning that, but I like to fashion myself as someone that wants to be versatile.

Continue reading

Imus Coverage, Part I

Posted in Uncategorized on April 11, 2007 by jweiler

There’s tons and tons of Imus stuff, so I’ll do this in a couple of installments. I heard him briefly on his radio show this morning while driving into work, and he was again apologizing for what he did. (His two-week suspension begins Monday). In a somewhat odd tangent, he noted that his regular sports correspondent, the FAN’s Chris Carlin, is the play-by-play voice for Rutgers football. This, Imus suggested, was another “irony” in this story, because “it’s not as if we don’t have a rooting interest in Rutgers.” But, whether the Imus gang roots for Rutgers football strikes me as having little to nothing to do with whether they would root for women’s basketball, a sport I have never heard them discuss prior to the fateful conversation of a week ago. (And, I do listen fairly regularly, though usually only in 10-15 minutes chunks after I’ve dropped my daughter off at school in the morning).

There are few perspectives worth noting here. First, is William Rhoden’s Monday piece in the New York Times. Imus’ remarks have mostly been framed as a racial issue, and for understandable reasons. But, of course, they weren’t merely racist. They were also sexist. Rhoden’s focus, atypical in the coverage I’ve seen and heard is on the racist AND sexist dimensions of the remarks.

Continue reading

Goodell’s Gamble and The New “Pacman Rule”

Posted in NFL, Roger Goodell on April 11, 2007 by Dax-Devlon Ross

I’m not weighing in on Tuesday’s decision to defend Adam “Pacman” Jones. Let’s just get that out in the open now. There are way too many deserving people in the world for whom my pen would be better put to use if that were my aim.

But I’m not about to attack Jones either.

I’m weighing in because D-Wil asked me to and because once I started thinking about it I discovered a couple of questions I wanted to throw to the wolves— you guys!

Goodell’s Gamble?

Roger Goodell brought the pain to Pacman Jones yesterday and the sentiment around the NFL and the sports world is that he made the right decision. But I don’t see his “swift justice” plan working. Not just for Adam Jones, but for the NFL as a whole. What if player misconduct doesn’t decline? We need only look as far as the White House’s Iraq policy to see that sheer force of will doesn’t always equate to victory? Sometimes there’s a backlash. Others a lag-time. Is Goodell prepared to fight this particular fight over the long haul? Or does he honestly believe this single sledge-hammer is going to solve his problems? For his sake, I hope this opening round knock-down does the truck. But if it doesn’t, will Goodell continue to suspend players for entire seasons? He’ll have to.

Continue reading