Alex Reed Joins TSF

How’s everyone doing today? My name is Alex Reed. I’ll go by the extremely creative areed12 here.

I first got the urge to write about sports after the Allen Iverson incident in the summer of 2002 (you know, the wife, “the guns”, the unsubstansiated charges). I know, I’m a youngin’. The great, late, Ralph Wiley’s piece about that incident got me on the road to try to become half the writer he was. Given that, a lot of my writings will focus on race in sports. 2007 will go down as one of the worst years in sports history, if not the worst. But it has also opened the floodgates about how the mainstream media and a lot of Americans feel about rich, black men, who have the audacity to be some of the best at what they do, earn millions, and remain close to the people they grew up with. I thoroughly believe that conversation is key to learning anything in this world and if that’s the one thing my writings will spark, I will sleep more easily at night.

I’m from New York City. I’m a life-long Knicks fan. As such, I think I should also be commended for not becoming an alcoholic during this great era of KNICKS BASKETBALL.

Some of my beliefs: Allen Iverson is the most influential player of my generation. If Peyton Manning got caught fighting dogs, he wouldn’t do a day in prison. The NFL Players Union is inept. Flanders sucks.

We all make mistakes, so here are some of mine:

I thought Peter Warrick would a great NFL player.

Up until two years ago, I would argue to the death that Stephon Marbury was better than Jason Kidd.

I drafted Ryan Leaf in the first round of my Fantasy Football draft once. ‘Nuff said!

12 Responses to “Alex Reed Joins TSF”

  1. Welcome, Mr. Reed. Don’t feel bad, I wanted the Ravens to draft Lawrence Phillips over Jonathan Ogden :) That’s why i write to bloggers.

  2. Man, did you dodge a bullet…

  3. BTW, I also thought Warrick would be a star, just like I thought Mike Williams (the USC version, not the Texas slug) would too. I have to believe we’ve been more right than wrong in our sports lives :)

  4. Yes, we did. I’ll miss J.O. when he retires after this season.

  5. Welcome,

    Your intro is too funny.If you read my recent post, you will see that I needed to laugh. I’m looking forward to reading your work.

  6. Michelle,

    I did read it, and damn, you rock :)

  7. thebrotherreport Says:

    Welcome to TSF – it looks like we’re complete. All that’s left for us to do is form like Voltron and make history.

  8. Wait, wait, wait, wait…Ryan Leaf….man…that’s just….wow…I’m speechless…anyone with the last name Leaf shouldn’t even be allowed to pick up a football…PERIOD!!!!!!!

    And I would have been your backup arguing about Starbury…lol….

  9. areed12, welcome! under mistakes you should have mentioned kincks fan. Will not hold it against you.

  10. anthonycarter Says:

    Welcome, Mr. Reed. I’m glad to have you on the team.

  11. Diehard Knick fan myself since ’92 season.

    Agreed, Ralph Wiley wrote in such an eloquent and educational manner that I have yet to read a writer who carries a subject as gracefully as Wiley.

    Gone, but hardly forgotten.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

