Do We Love Our Children Enough?

children.jpg

Below is one of my favorite movie scenes of all time–most likely because I’m a father to three beautiful kids.

Happy Birthday Taylor Jourdan. Congratulations on making the team. I love you beautiful.

The sooner our children spiritually believe this, the better off we all will be. Here’s something I wrote that was inspired by this grossly underrated movie: Reclamation Point

8 Responses to “Do We Love Our Children Enough?”

  1. I don’t have children but I completely understand where you are coming from, we don’t value our children particularly in this country. I have two godaughters but we do take them for granted or pay lip service to their wants and needs.

  2. It worryies me that we’ve lost all old school sense of parental discipline. Kids treat their parents just any ole way these days.

    My kids better not…

  3. Mizzo,

    Nice moving clip. You should have had that in the middle of Jemele’s interview.

  4. ‘It worryies me that we’ve lost all old school sense of parental discipline. Kids treat their parents just any ole way these days.’

    There is the balance I’ve tried to reach between discipline and letting them know you love them. Was rough in the beginning, I was too young and too impatient, too easily set off. But on the bright side, I established the boundaries early on, and now that I’ve settled down a bit, the kids know not to ever challenge their parents and the rules.

    I can’t stand other peoples kids though, other parents let their kids walk all over them, drives me nuts. Luckily I accidentally did something right early on and I have two well behaved 8 year olds (for another week at least, then one turns 9…. who knew about this ‘Birth Control’ thing? )

  5. “I can’t stand other peoples kids though, other parents let their kids walk all over them, drives me nuts. ”

    That’s hilarious.

    I know there is a great deal of truth to that. My twins are only 5 months – but the only thing they’re gonna run over is the floor. I ain’t havin’ it. At this point, I believe discipline is cultivating the capacity for them to control their desires (when that’s an issue) and teaching them to seek responsibility for themselves and their decisions. I don’t want them to fall into responsibility – I want them to see themselves as the cause of their world – with personal power and the will to have an impact and be of value. That’s where I’m rolling.

    I don’t want them running around like so many of my people believing in accidents and hobgoblins and little fat white men with gifts…Up you mighty Baby, you can accomplish what you WILL.

  6. ‘, I believe discipline is cultivating the capacity for them to control their desires (when that’s an issue) and teaching them to seek responsibility for themselves and their decisions. I don’t want them to fall into responsibility – I want them to see themselves as the cause of their world – with personal power and the will to have an impact and be of value. That’s where I’m rolling.’

    Preach on. I’m all for the personal responsibility. Basically whatever annoys me about people and society as a whole, I try to train out of my kids. Last thing I want is to be the cause of the things that I despise. I’m not doing too bad so far, but I’m in the easy years, they still listen to me. I got about 3 years before the real rough years start.

  7. Dig…

    I’ll be reaching out for some tips.

  8. I’m in the rough years…16, 14 and 12…Goodness.

    I was bless with great kids though. Grades first..then sports.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

